Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 17th, 2017, 17:51 PM   51
sequeena
Trying to conceive (TTC)
BnB Spammer Elite
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 33,506
I just finished paying the council tax bill for the year so I'm saving the money for the next 2 months to put towards a new bed



 
Status: Online
 
Old Jan 18th, 2017, 03:02 AM   52
Bevziibubble
Mum (Mom)
BnB Legend
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK ☔
Posts: 98,196
Yay!



 
Status: Offline
 
Old Jan 20th, 2017, 11:26 AM   53
JessicaAnne
Mum (Mom)
Chat Happy BnB Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: County Durham
Posts: 2,111
Pretty chuffed with myself.
I usually always pay by card so was spending more than needed on stuff that wasn't needed. This week I've kept it strictly cash (except my gas and electric which I top up online and ordering some new school bits for the kids).
Whatever I've had in change I've put in a money tub, there's over £10 in the tub so far. Win win for me because I hate carrying change and I wanted a way to afford to go on holiday to France next year!
I've had no impulse buys and no overspending

Something simple but money saving for me ��



 
Status: Offline
 
Old Jan 23rd, 2017, 02:10 AM   54
weewdy
Mum (Mom)
Chat Happy BnB Member
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,712
I have been seriously looking at my spending since christmas. What i started doing is check my online banking everynight and if my balance was £558.37 i would transfer £3.37 into my christmas savings account. Some days there would be nothing to transfer due to me not soending anything. Between my accounts i have managed to save £72.86 since christmas and ive not noticed it. I have also opened a few new bank accounts. A high interest current account that i am keeping my savings. A santander account so i get cashback on my mortgage and 2 new kids savings accounts (which now give 3% instead of 0.05%)

Since xmas 2016 i also set up 4 different accounts, car, holiday, house, xmas. Everyweek i pay £10 into them apart from house which i pay £30. Its not long in building up.

I also know my bills comes to £1358 per month. Whatever is left over i divide by 4 which normally leaves me around £150/£200 per week to cover food, petrol etc.

Just to add that with looking into my savings accounts and mortgage cashback i will be earning approx£400 per year more than last year.



 
Status: Offline
 
Old Jan 23rd, 2017, 02:32 AM   55
catty
Mum (Mom)
BnB Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,775
Havnt been so good lately but i have pretty much 99% cut out getting a coffee or cake when out and about. I used to do this once or twice a fortnight and i have even noticed savings just doing that. Half the time i couldnt drink it as i was too busy getting the kods organised and then id end up leaving some.
Iv also stopped doing softplay unless its a special treat. We were going quite often before xmas and i was spending about £15 or more each time.

Iv also stocked up on kids bday pressies for people in the nursery class. Just things like Avengers and my little pony etc which was on a massive sale. Some things were about £2.50 but usually about £10-15.

Thats all so far but i need to keep at it, we have so much bits to pay for this year.



Status: Offline
 
Old Jan 24th, 2017, 14:11 PM   56
kellyc1987
Waiting To Try (WTT)
Active BnB Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 343
I've been making my own lunches instead of buying out, I roast a chicken on Sunday and shred up any left over meat, fry this up with a fajita kit, peppers and onions.. make into wraps with rice added and freeze them. I put one in the fridge the night before and then have it for lunch the next day.

I have cut out takeaway coffee completely, and eating out (Mcdonalds, KFC etc)

I get paid on Friday and still have £580 to put away in savings!



Status: Offline
 
Old Jan 25th, 2017, 08:45 AM   57
topsy
Mum (Mom)
BnB Elite
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England
Posts: 14,080
I have spent £180 on shopping this month so doing ok xxxx



 
Status: Offline
 
Old Jan 26th, 2017, 13:22 PM   58
sequeena
Trying to conceive (TTC)
BnB Spammer Elite
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 33,506
We really needed new sofas. Argos had a deal on certain sofas (buy 2 save £50) and a 25% off code. Instead of paying £700 I paid £500 which I think is quite good. I got a £10 voucher for spending over £100 so I put it towards my sons bed. £110. 25% off and the £10 voucher I paid £82. Really pleased



 
Status: Online
 
Reply



Bookmarks

Tags
everyday , money , save , ways , year

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



SEO by vBSEO