LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 14th, 2012, 02:25 AM   1
Faith n Hope
Pregnant (Expecting)
Active BnB Member

Quick Vitex Question?!

Hello!
Just a quick question! I have irregular periods I always have done! I have probz got PCOS and I have a hormonal imbalance (testosterone higher) so I started taking Vitex during my last cycle on CD39 and got my AF day after CD51! It says on the packet that its 1000mg extract and that I can take 1-2 a day! I have been taking one a day! Do you think I should carry on with 1 per day or try 2 per day instead? I have also started drinking cups of peppermint tea to see if that helps! I just want more regular/normal cycle length periods to hopefully deffo ovulate so im in with a chance! I dont know whether to buy OPKS but I heard they sometimes arent that accurate?! Any advice would be much appreciated! I really wanna try proper meds but Dr hasnt prescribed anything yet so thought id try and give this a proper go while im on Af and starting a new cycle to see if it makes a difference at all?!
Thank you sooooooo much!
BABY DUST!
xox

Old Apr 14th, 2012, 10:14 AM   2
j1405
Mum (Mom)
Active BnB Member

hi!!

wel, i'm on my 5th month of vitex. because its a herb it takes a bit longer to build up in your system. the best is to take 1200mg per day. that is one pill 3 x a day. (normally the pills are 400mg each). that would work the best for you. i take the tincture. it absorbes allot better, you should try get that instead of the pills. its 15 drops 3x a day.

taking 1 a day will have very little effect on your irregular cycles.

vitex will help for your pcos if you take it regularly and as above. it regulated my cycles very well! i now have a 27day cycle every month for the last 4 months. first month i took only 1 pill also and it didn't change anything. herbalist told me to take more and try the tincture! it WORKS!!