3 year contraceptive implant

citygirl1

Reaction score
Is it any good? I have never been on any hormonal contraception but thinking of getting this just for the ease of it. Bit worried about possible side effects tho like weight gain.

my best friend and i had it put in at the same time, 3 years ago. i hated the bloody thing, i had it put in( which is fine, local anaesthetic then it goes in a syringe and pops in your arm) then bled for NINE WEEKS! I wanted it out after 6 but they put me on the pill to control the bleeding (IMO, if i have to be on the pill i might as well just be on the pill lol) after nine weeks i put my foot down, after putting on 2 stone i'd had enough.
my best friend had about four periods the entire time she had it in, and she's only just taken it out as she wants a bubba. she loved it and will have it again after she has a baby. i think it depends on your body, i liked not having to remember my pill - i'm not very good at remembering it, hence lucas hehe but it does reallt suit some people

I have it and I think it's great - I've had 2 periods since I had it put in in December, they're quite light (although longer than they used to be), and I haven't gained weight or anything.
However I've heard very mixed reviews. My doctor said it's best if you keep it in for 6 months because a lot of the side effects change over that time period, but I can understand not wanting to bleed constantly for 6 months!

haha yes they asked me to wait six months, but after being on my period for that long i calmly (or not) said if she didn't take it out, i'd do it myself.

I had it put in 9 weeks ago and was put on the pill last week for 3 months as I bled every day since it was put in! At the moment I'd say don't do it, but if the pill manages to regulate the bleeding and it's all ok when I stop it after 3 months, then maybe I'll have a different opinion.