9-10 Day LP

Angel5000

Mother to Melody
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to this particular website and am hoping for some help.

I was on bc for 15 years (due to extremely heavy/painful periods that had reached a point where I was passing out from blood loss). I'm almost 30 and I just got off bc 2/28/15, since my hubby and I were hoping to start TTC. I started temping right away and using OPKs to get an idea of my cycle.

My first cycle was 39 days long. I ovulated CD30, started spotting CD38 and AF arrived CD40 (giving me a 9 day LP if we don't count the spotting). Cycle #2 was 35 days long. I ovulated on CD26, spotting on CD35, and AF came the next day. Also an LP of 9 days.

I'm currently on CD4 of my 3rd Cycle since bc.

I didn't think much about it at first until I started doing some reading on the TWW and realized that a short LP is actually a bad thing. My AF has actually been really really light these 2 cycles, lighter and shorter than when I was even on bc.

I'm very new to this and had a freak out last night when I started reading that short LP can prevent egg from sticking (needless to say I was a tad on the hysterical side last night...we can thank me being sick + AF + scary webpages).

My question is: what can I do to increase the LP? Preferably naturally.

Also, is it possible that this is still a side effect of the bc and my body will still continue to adjust? This is 3 months off the pill now.

I've read about vitamin B6. I already take a complex, but it only has 5mg of B6 in it. Does B6 actually work? How mcuh do you take? Side effects?

Other recommendations?

I wish I could help but I'll be stalking this thread. My lp is usually 10 days (good news I was able to successfully conceive).
Best of luck, hopefully it'll get better for you as time goes on. I have read it can take up to 6 months for things to be regulated after birth control. I'm not sure how true that is though, you can only trust the internet so much after all.