Am I the only one who doesn't really love babies (please read before judging!)?

Mintastic

Reaction score
I LOVE children. I work with children for a living and I love it. I love little kids, big kids, even most teenagers!

However...babies don't really interest me. I objectively think they are cute...but in a kind of I am supposed to think they are cute way.
Someone brought his baby to work yesterday and all the other women were cooing over him and I thought the guy looked kind of cute holding the baby (I think men look cuter holding babies) but that was about it...

I assume when I have my own baby I will feel differently about it but occasionally worry that something is wrong with me and I should just adopt an older child. I know it isn't the same thing but I also did not want a puppy and adopted a 4-yr-old dog I adore.

I hope no one with a baby takes this personally. I don't dislike your baby...I will just be a lot more interested in him/her when they are about 1 1/2 and up.

Does anyone else TTC or even who already has kids feel this way? Is something wrong with me?

I understand exactly what you mean! My sons 5 and I wish I could pause him for a couple of years at this age because he's hilarious.
Little babies, until they get their own little personalities and really little milk demanding machines.
I guess you could say, I love the child they blossom into more :)

Thanks dreaming! It is comforting to hear from a parent who knows what I mean. There is hope for me as a parent yet!

My nephew turned 6 in May and I have always loved him but he is pretty much the most awesome he has ever been right now. Last time I was over he "taught me" how to play charades and it was just about the most fun I have had all year.