Any ladies buying a bassinet first or going straight to the crib?

Discussion in 'Pregnancy - Second Trimester' started by ilvmylbug, Mar 31, 2011.

1. ilvmylbug

ilvmylbug Single Mom of 2 & Proud

I'm thinking of going with a bassinet, I like the idea of having the baby closer to my bed and all swaddled up - not going anywhere. But I've never used a bassinet before, with my first DD I went straight to the crib (although she slept in the swing for a while).

Any thoughts or advice?:shrug:

2. annmomof2

annmomof2 Member

We used a pack and play with a bassinet insert for our first child, plan on doing the same for this one.

3. leeni

leeni Well-Known Member

i liked having my baby next to me in her moses basket.. but they soon grow out of them!
    i think i will probably have a moses basket again, it's nice to be able to move it around the house for nap times. something that you can't practically do with a cot.
    i'd say for the money, i think they're worth having even for the short time. just for the practicalities. sorry i can't be more help! xx

4. Rachyroux

Rachyroux Well-Known Member

We'll be using a moses basket for a little while (until she's too big), then moving her into the cot later on.
    I like the idea of the moses basket. All snug :)
    And it's practical! You can pick it up and move it about.
    I got mine with a stand too for just £45 (sorry I don't know that in $)
    But it's cheap and well worth the money. You don't have to pay loads for a really expensive one because they aren't in there long apparently anyway :) xx hope that helps! xx

5. jocelynmarie

jocelynmarie Well-Known Member

I'm really debating this one. The crib is in my room, so I don't know that I actually NEED one, but with as little as they are and being that they're so used to be in cramped spaces, I think thats a lot of room for them all at once.

I seen one I liked at Target for about $75 but I'm just not sure its worth the money... I've got everything to buy still!!