anyone know how to gain experence in nurser/health care with volunteer work?

Discussion in 'Work & Finance' started by lynne192, May 31, 2011.

1. lynne192

lynne192 mum 2 James & Libby

hey all, i need to get some work experence for my course but have to do it through volunteer work? does anyone know if you can like do volunteer work in like a care home or small hospital etc? i have to view health care such as nurses at work? looked online for volunteer work and can't find something suitable?? anyone???

any advice links or such would be fantastic unsure if i should maybe write to care homes to offer my help?

2. lcgoodac

lcgoodac Well-Known Member

Do you know anyone that works as a nurse etc? I am a qualified nurse and to get work experience to get on my nursing course i spent half a day a week on ward. Couldnt do anything apart from interact with patients etc but i was fortunate as i knew the sister of the ward so she managed to get me the experience.

It might be easier to get experience in a nursing home as i know alot of other people who have struggled to gain experience on a ward although alot of hospitals do have volunteers.

Lucy

3. lynne192

thanks for advice not too bothered about the ward or carehome, i sadly don't know anyone who is a nurse or in health care :( i have put ad out to see if anyone will take me and thinking about writing to all the local carehomes?

4. lynne192

anyone else any ideas?

5. superbecks

superbecks Well-Known Member

Ring wherever you want to go and ask them. Most will take volunteers. If you're not bothered about ward or care home what are you thinking of doing?

6. lynne192

i just been a small amount of general care work working with nurses or in a care situation offering support and time, it doesn't have to be great but looks good for uni lol

7. superbecks

I would def ring a local hospital then. What are you applying for at uni?

8. lynne192