Anyone know when flu shot season passes???

Discussion in 'Pregnancy - First Trimester' started by Freya, Feb 1, 2011.

1. Freya

Freya Toddler and baby

Anyone maybe with medical knowledge here know when the flu jab season finishes, or when they no longer offer it?

I'm choosing not to have it, and hoping the danger period for contracting it in the uk is nearly over! Plus it would be nice to not have to explain myself every midwife contact I have.

Xxc

2. Niamh22

Niamh22 Well-Known Member

I think it will come back again in spring when it starts to warm up again, that is when all the bugs come out i'm not a professional but my mum is and that's what she always says.

3. Freya

Freya Toddler and baby

I'm just not sure, v confusing. last year a friend fell pregnant in jan and she wasn't offered it at her first midwife appointment which may been feb or march. But then they might be doing things differently this year?? Xxx

4. Ew68j5

Ew68j5 Well-Known Member

I dont think the flu season ever really finishes....particularly the risk of pandemic flu (eg swine flu). Seasonal flu is less common after april(ish), thats influenza A and B, the swine flu risk will always be there, particularly if you are pregnant.

5. Flump17 08 11

Flump17 08 11 Well-Known Member

Hi

My doctor will only let me have this after I am 12 weeks, not sure why but I was thinking the same. I am 12 weeks tomorrow and wondering if I should have it or not. I can only have last years swine flu jabs as well since they have ran out of the combined. Are these safe for little bubbas ?

xxxx

6. hayley x

hayley x 1AngelSon,1EarthDaughter

I didnt havent it last pregnancy and wasnt offered at all! x

7. SullenGrl

SullenGrl Well-Known Member

I was pregnant this time last year and was never offered the flu or swine flu jab. Very strange, eh??

8. Ouverture

Ouverture Well-Known Member

I know in the U.S. it's from October to April, but they say too that you're better off getting it early in the season.