Anyone not get the stitch with shortening/incompetant cervix?

Tazi88

Reaction score
I was admitted to hospital last Monday with a funneling cervix (down to 13.5mm) and was given the steroid injections to prime little mans lungs. They kept me until Friday when they remeasured my cervix (now at 8mm) and said that they felt it was too risky to place a stitch this late (25w + 4 d) and sent me home to wait and see. I'm terrified as clearly my cervix is shortening significantly and to be told there is nothing besides the progesterone I'm on is a bit scary. Anyone have anything like this? Does anyone know of any other options to stop labor?

Hi Tazi,

Really sorry but i have no experience of this but i dont blame you for being really worried and i hope someone will be along soon to give some good advice.

The only thing i can suggest is to be prepared incase the baby does come early and find out if your local hospital takes babies before 28 weeks (i am sure you already know this). I am probably a doctors worst nightmare but i would of probably said i am not leaving and staying in on bedrest and to be monitored!!

Just go with your gut instinct and dont take no for an answer.

Take care and sorry i could not be more help

Hi Tazzi! No cerclage does not mean all is lost! My cervix was only a 1 from 21-33weeks. I was not a good candidate for a stitch and so had progesterone suppositories and complete bedrest. In the end, I still delivered a preemie, but it saved me from a loss or an extreme preemie.

At least you are past 25weeks. Good luck!

My cervix was looking good until around 27-28 weeks it shortened to 27 mm. I was too far along to get the stitch, but it's held up so far.