At What age would you leave your kids alone

Angelicous

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a teacher and one of my foreign student has asked at what age you can leave a child alone.

She has a 5 year old and an 11 year old. She says she occasionally leaves her kids alone to go to the opera in the evening (so quite late).

My kids are 6 and 4 so the nearest I get to leaving my children alone is going into the garden while they watch TV.

Her son has only just started secondary school and it seems a little young to me but where she comes from you get latch key kids from primary school age.

What do you all think?

I think that is too young. I didn't even let my kids alone when they were 11, so go figure. It all does depend on the child of course, but for me not at those ages. And not a whole evening to go out. I mean if they are 11 and they are up to it an hour to pop out could be okay, but not at 5, that is ridiculous.
I remember one mother let her 5 and 7 year old come home for lunch on their own every day and I was shocked. I mean kids at that age shouldn't be having all that responsability.

I had my own key at 10 and used to come home with one of my brothers who is 3 years younger than me. But not for long. Id say i was 13/14 before i started to babysit for more than an hour or so but that was for 3 childen, one 3 years younger, one 8 years younger and one 9 years younger.

An 11 year old would be to young to look after a 5 year old on an night for that long imo

It is against the law in the US to leave a child alone under the age of 12. I think that 13/14 would be a more appropriate age though.

It's against the law here (NZ) to leave any child under 14 alone.
Having said that, my sister was younger than that when we used to get home from school unsupervised...