Baby and Anesthesia ?

miel

Married to an amazing guy
Reaction score
i was wondering if any of you had the "experience " about having their baby put under Anesthesia?

Trystan is 12 days olds...he need a MRI to confirm if he has a version of spina bifida..we are waiting on the doctor to see when it will be "safe" for him to go under ? i think we may have to wait that he is is 1 month old or more...

I'm sorry, no experience just wanted to offer :hugs: and I hope everything goes well

My daughter has spina bifida. She had her first general anaesthetic at 1 day old.

My LO had pyloric stenosis and had to have surgery on his tummy at 3 weeks old. It required full anesthesia. It went just fine -- he came out of it fine and didn't have any ill affects from it.

Thinking of you and Trystan. :hugs:

I have no experience or advice but just wanted to send you lots and lots of :hugs: xxx

Ah bless you hun and big hugs.

Charlie had his operation at 10 weeks old to repair his cleft lip and was under for 4 hours. He came around just fine. They provide paedeatric anetheatists who generally only look after babies which is greatly reassuring.

They ask you to hold onto your little one whilst they put them under and they generally go to sleep in your arms. Once Charlie was asleep I put him on the table with his favourite toy, gave him a kiss and told him I would see him later.

You will cry lots but that is because you are having to give over your LO which most people have never been apart from and also the emotional strain behind why your little guy is having it done in the first place :(

Lots of love to you.

xxxx

My son Alex had heart surgery at 2weeks old, his weight had dropped to 6lbs 14oz, as far as i am led to believe surgeons prefer the baby to be over 2kilos but not sure if thats for surgery in general or heart surgery.