baby movements before labour?

rcl2105

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Does anyone know if babys movements slow down before labour, get more active or dont change?

Thanks x

Great question! I'm also very interested!

i wantto know this! as have ben wondering myself!!!!

another question to ask midwife on tuesday.....!

I remember with my daughter not feeling her move much at all once I had actually gone into labour. Might have been because I was distracted by the pain though!

I am a student midwife and can not shout enough that BABIES MOVEMENTS DO NOT SLOW DOWN BEFORE BIRTH!!!!!!!

Sometimes they feel less kicky and more wriggly though because they are getting bigger. The amount of women I see who believe the movements slow down and so do not report less movement is shocking.

I actually believed this myth with my 1st baby and didnt report reduced movement, which when monitored ended up being concerning and led to delivery.

Any change in movement patterns should be reported girls, always :)

Hope youv'e all got happy wriggly babies :) xxxxx

I am a student midwife and can not shout enough that BABIES MOVEMENTS DO NOT SLOW DOWN BEFORE BIRTH!!!!!!!

Sometimes they feel less kicky and more wriggly though because they are getting bigger. The amount of women I see who believe the movements slow down and so do not report less movement is shocking.

I actually believed this myth with my 1st baby and didnt report reduced movement, which when monitored ended up being concerning and led to delivery.

Good to know thanks :flower:

Thanks for that, my mil tried telling me the other day that baby wasn't ready to come yet because I was still feeling kicks/wriggles, I thought it was a strange thing to say as baby should always be active shouldn't it!? X

I was told their movements do slow down, so when I woke on my due date and didn't feel any movement for about 4 hours, I thought it was a 'good sign'.