Big baby worry, Advice please

shorty2k8

1 son ttc #2
Reaction score
Hi girls,

I had a 3d scan yesterday and it was the most amazing experience of my life, but my baby looked really big, and was measuring very big for my dates too.

He was measuring over 31 weeks, and 3 lb 9 oz! Already. He's not even meant to be 3 lb until the end of this week really. if it was just a small difference i wouldn't worry too much, but seems like theres a hug difference.

Feelin a little anxious about this as i'm only 5ft, always been small, and i'm already gettin uncomfrtable. Bit worried that his size is gona cause complications

I have my 31 week appointment with gp a week on thursday and dont see midwife again now until 34 weeks.

Basically i dont know whether to ring the midwife and air my concerns with her now and see what she says or wait and discuss it with the doctor next week. i dont want to waste anyones time and i dont want them thinkin i'm stupid, i'm new to all this and the anxiety is mountin now, i said all along he was goin to be a big boy, lol!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much for reading

Nicki
xxx

I wouldn't worry too much, the scans can be 25% inaccurate. At 32+5 I mine was measuring 4lbs 13oz and then at 36+3 he was 6lbs 3oz. I'm being induced tomorrow at 38+1 due to GD which 'apparently' causes baby to be big but 10 days ago he was just over 6lbs. It is ALL an estimate...remember that, if you are worried you can always get in touch with the day assessment unit at your maternity unit or your midwife.

Look at where his head/ tummy and legs measure on the graphs they gave you on the reports, and then compare this with the 20 week scan you would have received from your hospital, they will probably follow a correlation and then you can put your mind at rest. Don't stress...worst thing to do!!

https://tickers.baby-gaga.com/p/dev171pr___.png