Bilingual baby: how is it done?

MissMuffet

Mum of 2
Reaction score
Hi! this is following up the thread about bilingual babies, which has got me thinking :thumbup:
I wonder if anyone can tell me if I'm doing this right: I'm from the uk and hubby is spanish so we would like LO to be bilingual. I speak to LO only in english, even if we are with people who don't understand english. I sometimes think that it might be a bit rude to other people if they don't know what I'm saying, but I don't want Lo to get confused! Is this the way to do it? Hubby and I speak spanish between us, although he does understand english

Hi MissMuffet, I did my degree in linguistics, teaching ESL, and child language acquisition.

Basically, they learn through play, absorbing language, and imitation.

What you & your husband are doing is just fine (in fact that is what we do, my husband's first language is French, and mine is English). I wouldn't worry what others think - this is the way to teach her.

Do you live in an English or Spanish community? Basically, the principle of language learning is that when a child has excellent first language skills, the better their second language skills. So if your child's first language should be Spanish, then work on her Spanish moreso. If English is the second language (like it is for my son), then they're in luck because there's so many English books, movies, children's programs, DVDs, songs, video games that help. Again, it's learning through play.

There's no need to specifically 'teach' at this age (you can introduce things like flashcards at school age), basically just point, talk, introduce, chat, sing. When they get older, you'll want to start helping them with the written language, but again, always focus on language #1, and language #2 should follow nicely