Blood pressure advice???

Discussion in 'Pregnancy - Third Trimester' started by katratrina, Mar 31, 2011.

1. katratrina

katratrina Mum of 3, and Pregnant!

hi guys i just need advice on my blood pressure! it was 146/74. does this seem high or is it ok??? the doctor didn't say anything but i am still worried.

2. msq

msq Well-Known Member

that is high...i think your dr should've said something. if it stays that high they may start to worry about pre eclampsia. I had pressures like that & they put me on blood pressure meds.

3. Macmad

Macmad Happy mum of 2!

Hi

I'm not a doctor so don't quote me but I did use to monitor BP for my clients when I was doing GP Referrals in my job as gym instructor and we were taught that its the diastolic that you should be concerned about ( the second figure) and yours is fine. I think they get worried if it goes above 90+.

Oh and worrying makes your BP worst.....lol....sure that helps!

If your doctor is not concerned then I would try not to worry. :flower:

Hope that helps! x:hugs:

4. Debbie_23

Debbie_23 Mummy of two lovely boys

Your top number is a little on high side, but you bottom number is not high at all. It really depends what your bp was at the very start of your pregnancy and whether its gone up loads. Plus bp can vary throughout the day depending what youve been doing, whether your hot etc so you cant base it just on one reading really. When I go to midwife mine is usually around 132/72 but if I take it at home it drops to 119/68 but I always get nervous at midwife incase they find something wrong so my bp is always up when I get it taken there. If doctor wasnt worried then I wouldnt be either.

5. soontobemom

soontobemom Mom to Emily and Jacob xx

mine was 146/75 on monday morning, but it was a warm day and i had been rushing, they took it again after 5 mins and it was fine. i am being monitored due to pre-e with DD and my bp has been up and down this pregnancy too.