Breastfeeding noob, any help?

wasey

mummy to Summer-Rose <3
Reaction score
I'm REALLY looking into breastfeeding once LO's born. I was on formula when I was a bubba, mum tried breastfeeding me but I was going into a coma as I wasn't getting enough.

I am though, an uber noob when it comes to this, I have no idea on basically anything. I'm really not a huge fan (and I don't mean to offend anyone, it's just my personal opinion), on breastfeeding in public, so I would need to make bottles up anyways but... can anyone help me? Basically just explain the basics, benefits of breastfeeding, does it hurt? Can you breastfeed and then stop if it's not the right thing for you?

Thankyou girliess ^____^ xxxx

Hi wasey! I was raised on formula too so like you I was an uber noob!! :)

Firstly, and I'm not going to sugar coat this, for most women it REALLY hurts til about 6 weeks in as it's a learning curve for both you and your LO. Most women tend to get really sore nipples til they learn how to latch the baby properly, which your midwife should help you with once LO is born. Once you get the hang of it though you should be relatively pain free.

Occassionally though things like mastitis or thrush can make feeding a lot more painful, so if you are really struggling with pain when feeding I'd ask to see your doctor or health visitor.

Now for the good stuff :haha:

When you BF your baby gets the benefit of all the antibodies you've acquired over the years, which can stop baby from getting ill. It's also easier for the baby to digest so they get less upset tummies and it provides everything that they need nutritionally. They also get the benefit of loads of extra snuggles from mum :)

BFing will also benefit you too, as it can help reduce the chances of you getting osteoporosis (sp?) and certain types of cancer. Oh, and it's a great way to bond with your baby! :)