Calculating ovulation day using OPKs

JWC13

Reaction score
I'm curious to see how you ladies using OPKs determine which day is Ovulation day. For example:

Wednesday evening: positive OPK
Thursday morning & evening: positive OPK
Friday: negative OPK

I know that you ovulate 12-36 hours after your LH surge- BUT does that mean after the first surge or after the surge in general? During actual ovulation I don't believe that you receive a positive OPK so I'm thinking that I ovulated on Friday.

What do you all think? How do you determine which day you ovulated if you only use OPKs and don't temp?

I recommend using fertilityfriend.com to help determine ovulation day, I think it is pretty accurate. If you temp that will also help determine if you actually ovulated.

I'm no OPK expert but from what I remember the theory is that you ovulate the day after your first positive OPK. Have a look at this site to read a little more: https://www.fertilityfriend.com/Faqs/Ovulation-Prediction-Kits--OPKs--.html

I guess what I just don't understand is whether you have a surge in LH during actual ovulation. I get that the general rule is ovulation occurs one day after surge but what if you surge for 2 days? Are you ovulating during that second day or will ovulation occur after the surge?