can a midwife predict

wannabenewmum

Reaction score
my sister in law went to see midwife today at 36+2 and her midwife told her she would have her baby next week,,,, is this at all possible to predict babys heads engaged but ididnt think there was any way to know if your baby ready other than when its ready iykwim :)

no, there is no way of predicting when a baby will come, unless of course there is a date for an elective section. I think that was a bit unprofessional of the midwife telling your sister she will deliver next week, its bound to lead to diasppointment if she doesn't and shear luck if she does.
A babies head engagement does not indicate that labour is imminent. Although i wish there was some kind of way of telling, as a student midwife i could make a fortune from delivery date syndicates :lol:!

I'm not sure but when I was having my son I saw my midwife when I was 35 + 5 days and she said from the way things were looking she thought I would go sooner rather than later. My son was born 5 days later at 36+2 days! Maybe she was just lucky lol xxx

no, there is no way of predicting when a baby will come, unless of course there is a date for an elective section. I think that was a bit unprofessional of the midwife telling your sister she will deliver next week, its bound to lead to diasppointment if she doesn't and shear luck if she does.
A babies head engagement does not indicate that labour is imminent. Although i wish there was some kind of way of telling, as a student midwife i could make a fortune from delivery date syndicates :lol:!

Lol u would make an absolute fortune!! I wish ppl could tell us when it would happen, like they should have to arrive on their due date!!