Can someone please explain the basics......

brunettebimbo

Mum of 2 Boys!
Reaction score
I'm new to TTC, I'm pretty useless with periods etc. Before BC my periods used to be between 28-32days. When do you class as the first day of your period? How do you do charting? Temping etc?

I only came off the pill on Sunday mid packet and my breakthrough bleed arrived last night. We plan on :sex: pretty much daily to begin with and go with the flow but if that doesn't work I want to try charting etc

Thanks in advance :)

They usually suggest completing your whole pack before stopping, that way you complete a whole cycle....

The first day of a cycle is when you first begin to bleed, spotting included. However I wouldn't count your breakthrough bleed, and you also stopped in the middle of a pack. Id begin counting a cycle the next time you begin to bleed.

A lot of woman recommend using Fertility Friend to chart etc.. Ive looked at it etc.. but felt as it would stress me about more charting and temping. So we have just been using OPKS and writing on calendar when I get a positive OPK and when I get AF.

hope that helps a little,

Charting is pretty simple once you get the hang of it. It did kind of stress me out at first, but I love it now that I know what I'm doing. It's nice to know exactly when you ovulate so you know if your luteal phase I long enough, and so you can catch the egg. The problem with only use OPKs is that they only tell you that your body is gearing up for ovulation, your temps will actually show that you ovulated.