Comments from the Family

Orglethorp

Reaction score
Alright, so my fiancé and I are TTC #1 right now (I'm currently 2dpo on my 4th cycle, and feeling hopeful!) but we haven't told our families yet. I turned 27 this month and he'll be 26 later this year.

I'm a university student working on a 2nd undergraduate degree, and feeling like I need a break from my studies for a few semesters at this point, because I've been a university student since 2006. (sometimes part time, but still a student!) I'm also really feeling the clock ticking, because I am already 27 and we do want 2-3 kids, and I want to give all of them the best chances of being born healthy.

He's a fully certified journeyman carpenter with a full time job that is year round despite the harsh winters in this province (not the case with every company, so he's pretty lucky).

We have plans to start building our house this summer (we're being given land, but we're waiting on development to get to a point where we're allowed to start), and he doesn't want to spend on our wedding until we've built the house. That's 100% fine with me, and I love it that he's the one who wants a big wedding! We're in a great 2 bedroom basement suite right now and the landlords are fine with kids in the suite. They've got a toddler and 2 dogs upstairs, so I'm not worried about them going back on that.

My mother was my age when I was born (I'm the first born in my family). His mother had 3 by the time she was 25. His maternal grandmother (only grandparent left on his side) is only in her early 60s and already has great grandchildren from his cousins.