• Welcome back! The Xenforo Cloud migration is now complete. Thank you for your patience! NOTE: please make sure to report any issues to our Technical Support forum and we'll review ASAP.

Constant feeding.

F

FemmeEnceinte

Hello! newbie here!

Started BFing 6 days ago, milk came in on day 3 and am currently producing enough to feed an army (I change nipple pads hourly sometimes and leak onto my top when I sleep). During the day LO feeds every 3-4 hours for around 10-20 minutes but at night she feeds every hour and a half for anything from 20 minutes to constantly.

By this, I mean, she'll wake and feed and fall asleep on the breast after about 20 minutes but as soon as I put her in her moses basket she starts rooting so I pick her up and nothing can settle her except being at the breast. I know she's only tiny yet and I know she takes what she needs but it seems like at night she's not really feeding, she's just comforting herself and is chewing the end of my nipple most of the time! Ouch.

Just wondering what everyone else's initial experiences were with BFing their newborns and if it's just something she'll settle down with in time.

Thanks! x

Oh and she'd gained 3oz in 5 days at her last weigh in! :lol:

hi femme and congrats!

Tbh I'm not a great help on this i'm afarid, we had the same thing for the first two weeks and i was so exhausted i ended up giving into the dummy on midwifes advice. They told me when she was born she was going to need a dummy because she was suckling away from the moment she was born, i was quite taken a back by it actually becuase i didn't think midwifes were supposed to recommend things like that but never mind!