Dog lymphoma

loeylo

1DD, 1 pup, WTT#2
Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience with this?

My dog, who is only 7, has just been diagnosed and we are all devastated. He seems to be feeling fine, his only symptom is a sudden huge swollen lymph node on his neck.

Fortunately, we have very good pet insurance so we have an appointment with an oncologist at one of the best vet hospitals in the U.K.

The diagnosis is terminal but he could have a year or more with treatment.

No experience, but just wanted to say sorry. I've got dogs and it's heartbreaking when they get poorly xx

Thanks for the reply. It’s totally heartbreaking, especially since it’s terminal and without treatment we are looking at 4 weeks. He’s so young!

I am a vet nurse, and although we don’t have an oncology ward at my hospital, I do have a friend who works in oncology elsewhere. She always says how amazed she is at how the animals tolerate the chemo and/or radiation, they don’t suffer near as many side effects as humans do. Many continue to live the happy dog life for a longtime while receiving treatment, it can definitely prolong their life while still preserving quality of life.

I am a vet nurse, and although we don’t have an oncology ward at my hospital, I do have a friend who works in oncology elsewhere. She always says how amazed she is at how the animals tolerate the chemo and/or radiation, they don’t suffer near as many side effects as humans do. Many continue to live the happy dog life for a longtime while receiving treatment, it can definitely prolong their life while still preserving quality of life.

That’s what I’ve heard too.

We are going to find out if it’s B or T cell and do “staging” shortly: our appointment is Tuesday. Our local vet (not a small surgery - they have about 6-7 vets) can do staging and treatment, but the hospital gives us more accurate imaging. Once we have staging done we will know prognosis and suck.

I’m just heartbroken.