Drinking water before scan - help!

dizzyjoo

Reaction score
Ladies - how do you manage to get yourselves a full bladder before your 12-week scan???
Mine is as noon tomorrow - how much should I drink and how long before? I am not good at holding my pee and dreading it. Hoping they will do an internal if I have not managed to keep my bladder full (in case of being late running at hospital etc.)

xxx

I'm sure on my appointment letter it states 1 pint approx and hour before the scan.

I'm sure on my appointment letter it states 1 pint approx and hour before the scan.

Yeah that's what mine says too. Should be ok, it's not like you'll be desparate for a pee for the whole hour after you drink it!

Yeah that's what mine says too. Should be ok, it's not like you'll be desparate for a pee for the whole hour after you drink it!

You don't know my bladder LOL!!!!!!!!!

I'd be sipping a 500ml bottle of water all day yesterday - through a big presentation - to stop me coughing so much. By 3pm I was in the loo 3 times over the space of 30-mins!!!!!!!

my scan letter said to drink 1litre of fluids.. im a bit worried about this too,i'll probably end up desperate for the loo!

lol isjut had my scan this morning, and i dran a 500ml bottle of water and it wasnt enough to get baby moving to get nuchal test i had t go for a wee walk and drink more 4 cups later im absolutly busting and shes proddig me with the thing lol i thought i was gonna pee there and then! i had to go from side to side and bounce my bum to get baby moving lol it was facing us so u couldnt see nuchal fold so it moved eventualy! only turned upside down and was still facing forward lol but she eventualy got it after poking the thing right into my kidney infected side lol oh the joys looking foward to 20 week scan couldnt see the spine for nub guess but it did look pretty straight and chinese gender predict girl fingers crossed!!