E-Coli Outbreak

tink30

Reaction score
Whats yr views ladies on the recent news on salads etc..

Slightly scared as that's all I've been eating for a few months as my snack meal. with IBS I'm limited for food choice and I love my salad.

It's spanish cucumbers, my mum was in spain last week and got the worst food poisoning of her life, she collapsed in her hotel room and she's never collapsed before! Pretty scary, I blame the evil cucumbers!

oh gosh girls .. sorry to hear yr mum was ill..i was driving home today and heard tomatoes, lettuce.. etc..aswell.. what a time to hear this.. when salads would be great and full o vits.. be great is someone knows the in's and outs xx

I hadn't heard about this so thanks for posting about it! I was eating a lot of salads up until 6 weeks when my morning sickness kicked in. For some reason after that lettuce was disgusting. I had my first salad since 6 weeks last night! I'll be keeping away for awhile now, though!

No problem hun, you will see this on the news in the next few days.. just 7 cases in the uk at the mo.. but something to be aware of I think xx:hugs:

even here in seychelles we've hear of this,we are usually so isolated on these topics,it seems everything is not good to eat these day,pork cos of swine flu,chickens and ducks cos of birdflu,beef cos of mad cow disease,fish coz of mercury now is even our plants!!!
it must really be the end!!!!

here is more about the new outbreak. i am growing my own garden this year.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/mobile/health-13626499

Washing Everything extra well !! I had severe food poisoning after a holiday in centerparcs in 2010 - it lasted3 weeks and was poor awful. I've always been obsessive with food prep, but now I'm pregnant and 4 young children I'm super super cautious now !!!
The kids and I love our salad, fruit and veg so I'm washing it all ad soon as I've bought it before it gets put away
We also grow alot of out own so I'm hoping for a good crop this year !!