Early signs of Autism in my 16 mth. Any insight woud be appreciated!

Totmom1982

Reaction score
Hello,

Im new to this so please forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong spot or use improper etiquette.
I am a stay at home housewife of 4 kids 16, 13, 10 and 16 mths.
My concern is over my 16 mth old. I'm not even sure how to explain him. He is quirky. You know how as a parent you can sense when something is off? Call it a mothers intuition. Or, i'm just going crazy but please hear me out. He has a dr. Appointment soon but for now I need someone. And my husband thinks I'm evil to even bring the topic up.
My son Tucker was born June 4th, 2017. He was a healthy babe. He was content and thiving from the get go. But again quirky.
At 3 months old Tucker would love! I mean loove the ceiling fan. He would stare and giggle at it and coo. He would also be transfixed at the credits of movies- as early as six months. He would stop whatever he was doing crawl up to the t.v. and zombie stare at them.
Other than that he was very typical and met all of his milestone timely and some early.
The concern become greater now at 16 months. He doesn't have as strong as love as he once had for closing credits but he still has these "obsessions" over things:
*Opening and shutting doors
* putting toys in drawers and containers
* his latest is his clapping his hands (yay or Patty cake) and ours. He gets so happy and excited which is great. But he could do it for an hour and if we stop he is displeased.
* he is completely fixated with two movies ( however he loves nursery ryhmes and will contently watch any)
Some of my other concerns are the following:
* doesn't make a ton of eye contact and takes three or four times when calling his name
* Does not point at objects. However will say "more" when wanting more food or more of something
* makes noices to get my attention..grunting
* on occasion he will turn my head to the direction of something he wants instead of communicating