Femara or IVF?

penelopejones

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

A brief intro - I'm 37, dh is 34. We've been TTC #2 for a year. I've just completed tests with a repro endo and everything looks fine. (Ovarian reserve looks good, no blocked tubes, etc.) We are still waiting on DH's sperm analysis.

So the doctor suggested that we think about drugs (Femara) vs. IVF. Basically, how aggressive do we want to be?

Has anyone had to make this decision and if so, how did you decide?

Fertility treatments are thankfully covered by my insurance and we are willing to pay for IVF if that's our best bet.

Does it make sense to jump straight to IVF? Even for a silly reason, like if I have a January baby I'll get more time off for mat leave (I'm a teacher, so that way I'd get a semester off plus summer).

Would love any input!

If you are in a hurry, I would skip Femara and go right to injectables. I wouldn't go right to IVF but I would do an IUI right away. I took Gonal F, I am not sure what other injectable medication is out there.

I had high ovarian reserve results (AMH was 9.4; they found 9 follicles on one ovary and the other was hiding). The doctor said that injectables could lead to multiples in my case, so he didn't seem to keen on those.

Does IUI require injectables?

I had high ovarian reserve results (AMH was 9.4; they found 9 follicles on one ovary and the other was hiding). The doctor said that injectables could lead to multiples in my case, so he didn't seem to keen on those.

I'm currently doing IVF for the first time for a second child. My first child was conceived after one round of Femara only without IUI. I have severe endo so going that route again is a waste of time. I was offered IUI before I chose IVF but me REI said there is a higher chance of multiples with IUI. So I chose to go straight to IVF to avoid multiples.

Wishing, so did you not have endo the first time, but developed it after?