'friends come first!' - or do they?

pinkish_angel

Reaction score
I 'had' a best friend at school... (back in the day). In 1998 she went off to uni in lancashire and I studied at the local uni so I could stay at home for that little bit longer. We kept in touch for a while through letters etc, then in 2000 she met a lad. She came back to visit her parents one weekend so we met up, and she brought this lad along. We went to the pub and on to a club. I noticed that he wouldnt leave us alone. We couldnt go to the toilet together or be left talking while he went to the bar. She told me not to mention anyone or anything from the past.. school or anything, cuz he would get jealous. He wasnt over friendly to me but we had a laugh so to speak. Me and my friend kept in touch through letter still after this till one day I heard nothing. She wrote me a letter previously saying that her bf was being abusive to her and it was because of the letters she was getting from me.. I had mentioned some ex partners or some old school memories perhaps. I moved away and we both got on with our lives. In 2003 I heard that she had had twins. I sent her a card to her parents house back in our home town and before long I revieved a text saying how she missed me and how we needed to get back in touch. We wrote nearly every 2 weeks for a year or 2. She had in the meantime moved back to our home town and I was in the process of doing the same. I was back at my parents house sorting some stuff out when I had a phone call asking me to meet her. Great... after all these years I was finally gonna see 'my best mate' again. Then a few hours later I got a text from her saying "I can not see you again... (name - partner) doesnt want me to contact you. He said its you or him and I have a family now and they come first". Thats the last I heard from her. This was back in 2004. She literally lives around the corner from me now. I have never seen her around which is quite strange. I have other friends that w