Getting through work when you feel like CRAP!

Mrs. Tigger

Mom of Two
Reaction score
Hi Ladies :flower:

This is a bit of a rant. But I'd like to talk with someone else in the same situation.

I'm 7w0d today according to LMP, but 5w6d according to my dates. I'll have a dating scan Monday.

Anyway, since about 4w3d or so (according to my dates), I've just felt like absolute crap. I feel like I've got a horrible hangover or the flu or something and it won't go away. The main two problems are that I am constantly so exhausted (all I want to do is sleep!) and I am nauseous throughout the entire day. I haven't thrown up yet, but I've been close a few times and I generally am just nauseous through the whole day and have very little appetite.

I know that these symptoms are signs of what is hopefully a healthy pregnancy. But my concern is how do I deal with it in work? I am a software developer and I work in an office all day. I know this is lucky compared to people who work physically demanding jobs, but unfortunately it makes it so easy to get distracted. I feel like my productivity is suffering and it worries me a lot. I just sit at my desk all day feeling like crap, thinking about how I feel terrible unable to concentrate. My short-term attention span is shot; I can't seem to stay focused on anything for an extended period of time, as I get distracted with my yawning, nausea, etc.

So, I can't be the only one in this situation. How do you ladies cope?

I was like this for a good 3 weeks. Last pregnancy I was like it for about 3 months! Last time I ended up going off sick but this time I told my boss early on and asked for some support. I was able to work the odd day from home and had someone else on the team who could do bits of my work if I was struggling. I just constantly kept eating too as that helped with sickness