Help me figure out birthday party invites

daneuse27

Reaction score
My daughter is turning 5 this year. I don't usually have parties, but this year I am going to go all out - have a cake made, hire a Disney princess to come, lots of decorations, etc.

We're planning to have the party at home. I live in a townhouse, so it's not a huge amount of space. Ideally 10-15 kids max would be our ideal guest number range.

She has 25 classmates at school, and then there are 2-3 additional friends we're going to invite.

I know not everyone will come, but I feel funny inviting almost 28 kids expecting/hoping that only half will show up. :wacko:

My mom thinks I should limit the invites to only the girls in the class. Or leave out the kids who are behavioural or rowdy. I feel bad doing that though. I've put up a poll to get opinions since Im a bit new to the world of birthday party planning. Thanks!

I would ask your daughter. I've had invitations from people who have very kindly invited everyone. My son wasn't friends with some of them and didn't play with them at the party so it was pointless. Most parents can understand that sometimes numbers are limited and if you do it the right way the children who are left out don't know

I would let her choose no need to invite them all that would be a lot of kids

Invite the class mates with only a week or twos notice. Not many will be free, lol.

I think only inviting girls is a really bad idea. What kind of message does that send? That boys and girls are "different" or that they can't play together. Don't do that.
Similarly, excluding kids because they misbehave isn't a great idea. I mean, they are what, 4 or 5? Nobody is going to turn up with a gun, just have a way of contacting their parents (all kids that is) and if they misbehave then have them collected.

I'd let your daughter choose.