How are you getting your Pet(s) prepared for baby?

krisnjay

Mommy to Logan
Reaction score
I have a dog and two cats that are very friendly but get weird with big changes. I just want to see if anyone else is doing anything to prep the pets

I heard that having your OH bring something home that smells like the baby for the animals to sniff before the baby comes home is a great way to get them used to the baby.

Play a video of a crying baby once or twice a day, or get a crying doll. Also I was told when baby comes home, have somebody else hold the baby while you greet your dogs the same as you always would.

I heard that having your OH bring something home that smells like the baby for the animals to sniff before the baby comes home is a great way to get them used to the baby.

This is a good tip. I'm a veterinary nurse and this is what we advise people to do when they are having a baby. I'll be doing it with my cat, though he's so laid back about everything I don't think he'll even notice anything has changed!

Im pretty worried 4 my dog hes only 10months and when we had my nephew round (3months now) he was cryinh and my dog hated it - was quite scared poor man xx

have you heard of feliway for cats (google it!) it can help de stress them, worked for our girl on firework night etc.

we will have to shut ours out the bedroom when baby comes so I think we will do this about 8-6 weeks before so they dont think they are turfed out because of the baby

xxx

I have a dog and two cats too. We already have two kids so they're used to them and they're used to friends with babies popping round. The dog and one cat are fine, the other cat keeps out of the way!