How long to leave between IVFs...Back to back cycles?

tulip girl

Reaction score
So, my last IVF was a fail. I came on last Thursday...I potentially want to start my next IVF on my next period. This means there would only be the 'breakthrough' bleed as clinic calls it. The nurse phoned today and said my doctor would like me to have another period before we start again. I would not! For me, next month would be ideal as I won't be at work (I'm a teacher, so I'm on holiday) I find the whole thing difficult in that my work is lovely, yet very gossipy and everyone knows your business. More people than I wanted knew about my last cycle, and to be honest I don't want anyone knowing his time. My class are also SEN and hard work.
So my question is anyone go back-to-back with cycles? From researching it seems they like to give you a rest to recuperate/destress - but I find cycling while working the most stressful thing! I'm fine emotionally and just want my best shot at next time (and believe this will be if I can go next month)
Does anyone know of any reasons why I couldn't go next month? Just looking for some arguments for my case when I get to speak to the doctor!!
Many thanks xxx

Sorry I don't have an answer about back to back, but my clinic requires us to wait 2 months (3 periods) between ivf/fet. They said it's to let the ovaries recover, they apparently take a while to return to their pre-ivf size

My doctor asked me to wait for a period before we did a second IVF cycle in 2013. She wanted my body to recover a bit from the ER and to let all of my meds leave my system before trying again. Hopefully someone will be able to offer more information about back-to-back cycles for you. Good luck!