Hypnobirthing

MidnightSun

Reaction score
I am sorry if I seem a little ignorant, but I literally know nothing about this, only that a friend of mine said she was looking into it for the birth of her first baby in 2 months.

Could someone please explain to me what it's all about, and if it would work with my plan of a water birth in hospital with just gas and air?

Thank you :kiss:

It works with any type of birth!

Have a look at the UK HBing website - there's loads of info, class details and FAQs on there :D

https://www.hypnobirthing.co.uk/what_is_hypnobirthing.shtml

In short you learn how to keep in control through breathing and relaxation techniques. You can use it no matter which way you choose to birth. This is my first time using hypnobirthing and I'm really hoping to feel more in control during labour.

It does seem like a fantastic thing - I have been watching some birthing videos on You Tube and the Hypno ladies definitely seem much more in control.

Is it definitely something that I would have to go to a class for? Or would I be OK just buying books and a cd?

Also I have heard very good things about Natal Hypnotherapy, does anyone know anything about this system and whether it's very different to the Mongan method?

Thank you!

Oh yes Merv's Mum! I shall be putting in some orders with you in the next couple of months - adore your bits and bobs :happydance:

OH! Thank you MS!

You dont NEED to go to the classes but of course people do sometimes find they 'learn' better that way. I think the practitioners styles vary a lot and some people find they are really glad they did the classes and others feel they'd have managed just find without.

x

I left a comment on you FB page when you have a minute :D

I think I am going to go with the Natal method and get some cd's after Christmas to see what I think!

Excited !!