I hate my employers so much

Discussion in 'Pregnancy - Third Trimester' started by J.D., Oct 11, 2013.

1. J.D.

J.D. Well-Known Member

So towards the end of working, I was in a lot of pain. I requested a high chair so I could work and sit at the same time. It took them almost 6 weeks to get it, during which time my pelvic pain worsened significantly. I think I only had the chair for 3 days when my doctor signed me off.

I'm now wearing an uncomfortable girdle thing as much as I can stand it and am on crutches. I can't go anywhere because I don't have a car. I rely entirely on my wife now.

I got signed off for a week before my annual leave was due to start.

I just received a letter in the post saying that they're not paying me for it as it was more than 3 days and I'm to apply for illness benefit through the social welfare. Even if I get sick pay this way, it'll be about 1/3 of my normal weekly wage. I have been working for the company for 14 years now and I've been off for 2 weeks before (car accident/whiplash injury) and have never been asked to do this.

Between fertility treatment and preparing for the baby, we're completely broke, no savings or anything. I know there's nothing anyone can do, but I just needed to say it all to someone instead of sitting here at home bawling by myself. :cry:

I know we'll get through, but jeez. I hate them so much. The last 3 months of my maternity leave will be spent pounding the pavement for a new job.

2. pcct

pcct Well-Known Member

So sorry to hear about your sodding work!! My work place was exactly the same and. It payin me either... I too will be spending my last few months on leave looking for anther job! I will never forget how my wrk treated me throughout my pregnacy :(

It's so good just to be able to get it off your chest , I hope everything works out for you in the end :hugs: :hugs: sending you lots of hugs

3. bebbe

bebbe Well-Known Member

Oh J.D that is terrible :hugs: