I'm Horrible...Cut His Finger!

PitBullMommy

Princess, FF & Angel Mom
Reaction score
I was clipping Austin's fingernails cause they were getting really long, he was asleep so I figured it was a good time. He jerked right as I was cutting and I got the tip of his finger. It didn't come OFF, but it cut it pretty good in a crescent shape. It was bleeding so I put pressure on it and got it to stop and he calmed down after a few mins of crying (took ME longer to stop crying than him!). I put neosporin and a band aid on it, even though it's on the tip of his finger, just wrapped the band air 'round it. Was just looking at it and it's purple-y under the skin and looks really painful even though he seems just fine. Should I take him to the ER or doc?

PS..yea, I know I'm an EMT, but...this is MY baby! It's different! :dohh:

I don't think I have spoken to anyone who hasn't done this. I did it to Dylan and he didn't cry so I didn't notice until there was blood :(
Just put antiseptic on it and it was fine. Keep an eye on it, if it looks infected then take him to the docs but everything should be fine xxx

Everyone mum i know has done this hun, its so easy to do it thier fingers and nails are soo tiny.

Dont worry about it too much!

i wont use scissors in fear of doing exactly this. I am using a nail file.

Thanks everyone. I still feel awful! It doesn't seem to be bothering him at all now, but it looks horrid, all purple under the skin that's left! Poor little buddy! I'm going to use a file from now on!

Big :hugs: I think most of us have done it at some point, I know I have :( xx

I did this, too.
It was so traumatic! I figured I had lopped the top of his finger off.
I hadn't and he was totally fine.
It took me months to get over it, though.
I still hate clipping his nails.

I know! I am SO terrified to touch him, I've made DH take care of him the rest of the day! :doh: The finger nails on his other hand are wicked long...totally NOT cutting them!