Is she feeding enough?

0stara

Reaction score
Hi all, I am new to this part of the forum, but could use some advice.

I am mummy to 9 day old Elena, who spent the first 5 days of her life in special care due to tummy problems (fluid from the womb went a bit bad).

She is home now, we are having a ball, but she sleeps for very long periods (up to 5 and a half hours at a time), then is awake for long periods (up to 4 hours, with catnaps in the middle). During her awake periods she feeds lots, usually a couple of big ones, and some intermittent. Plus the changing and fussy bits.

I know every baby is different, but I was led to believe that demand breastfeeding would be a whole lot more frequent! She latches on well to both boobs, providing she is on her right side for both. I have doubts about the production on my right boob :shrug: as she always seems to be hungry again sooner after that side. Also it doesn't seem as heavy after a long gap.

Any tips? Advice would be welcome, thank you xxx

Personally I wouldnt let my baby go more than 3 hrs during the day without nursing at that young age..Is she nursing at least 8 times in 24 hrs? You may find that soon she will want to nurse very often. Some babies are very sleepy early on and can hardly be woken to nurse. So be prepared for some crazy nursing to come your way. And a word of advice if this happens. It may be a growth spurt. Your breasts will probably feel empty and baby will act like she isnt getting enough. Dont give bottles. Nurse her, even if you feel empty. Even if its been only 15 minutes since she last ate. After a few days all of the crazy cluster feeding will result in an increase in milk supply and her feeding habits should settle a bit. My dd is almost 3 months and she nurses every 2 hrs and I am expecting it to stay this way another 6 months at least.