Jack 28/03/09 - homebirth with hospital transfer

S

Shifter

Now that more than a week has passed and I have had some time to process the events of Jack's birth I'm going to try to record the details. This won't be easy as I am still very upset about what happened but I think writing it all down might help in a way.

It's hard to say exactly when labour began! We thought it had got going on Sunday 22nd March. I was having regular surges at five minute intervals and went into the trance-like state I had been practising for so many months. It was a euphoric experience, pain free and very intense. The MWs were called out and I agreed to an internal to see where we were at. It was fairly gloomy news, I had barely begun to dilate and my cervix was still high. The MWs left us to it and the surges almost immediately stopped. I then spent the next few days in an almost constant state of frustration waiting for things to start again but only ever had occasional irregular surges.

It wasn't until Friday 27th that I knew things were starting for sure. I woke up at around 5am with surges accompanied by cramps. I got up and wandered about a bit, squatted by the bed and tried to put my breathing to good use. After almost an hour I woke Andy to tell him something was happening. I couldn't concentrate on my breathing, I was excited and restless and it did hurt a fair bit, so I was a bit frustrated too!

We kept an eye on the surges and after a while we were happy that they were coming five minutes apart. So my mum was called and we put some music on for me to try and get into my deep relaxation. I got half way there, was using the breathing techniques I'd learnt and it was all going pretty well. Soon the contractions moved up to every three minutes and we thought things were progressing quite quickly so called the MW.