Job hunting while TTC

writingislove

Reaction score
I'm not technically job hunting, but I am miserable at my current job. A professional acquaintance recently referred me for a really amazing opportunity, and after an initial phone interview, I have the face-to-face interview on Monday. Things are sounding very promising.

The thing is, I absolutely can't bring myself to put a pause on TTC. DH and I have talked and decided we would keep trying even if I got a new job...especially because it's unlikely to happen right away since my thyroid level is still way too high.

I'm really torn on what to do IF I do get offered this position. The company is HUGE on employee happiness and well-being, but if for some reason we conceived right away, I wouldn't be eligible for FMLA. I know it would be in the company's hands to decide how to handle it, but I'm just curious how other women in this situation have gone about making the decision what to do. I'd like to find out what the company's policies are on maternity leave and/or short term disability, but I don't know how to ask about it without being obvious. Advice, anyone?

I'm curious on this too. I'm in a similar boat, as we're currently TTC, and I have a job interview this week. I'm actually quite happy at my current job, but a recruiter just contacted me about what could be a dream job...and potentially a good bit more money.

I think I'm going to go through the interview process and see what the job is all about. IF I get a job offer and IF I decide I'm interested, I think I would have an honest conversation with them before accepting the position. I'd explain that I'm TTC and see how flexible they are on maternity benefits to employees that don't qualify for FMLA. I wouldn't expect any pay, etc...but I do plan on taking the full 12 weeks off and would want their assurance that my position would be waiting when I come back. Otherwise, I think I would decline the job.