Little Rant

Discussion in 'Pregnancy - First Trimester' started by LadySekhmetDJ, Oct 15, 2013.

1. LadySekhmetDJ

LadySekhmetDJ Well-Known Member

Just a little rant.

I cycle...a.l.o.t. It's my getaway, it's my exercise of choice. All year I've been working on getting better on hills and speed. I've notice a huge improvement over the months, and I'm really proud of myself.

However...all that work went to naught. (is that the proper way to say that?)

I couldn't ride for a couple weeks due to being sick and didn't know I was pregnant and was suffering from "tummy troubles"...of course I was...I was growing a baby in there!

After a while, I went back on my bike, and suddenly my speed and my endurance was SHOT. I am struggling on the hills because I get out of breath easily. I feel like I am a beginner cyclist all over again.

I was supposed to do somewhat a long ride as a team this weekend, but sadly, I have to back out because I would be struggling on the hills and I would be going super slow to keep from over exerting myself. It's not fair to me or the team. If it was a much shorter ride, I probably could do it without any issues, but it's a long ride. While I'm super excited and looking forward to being a first-time Mom, I'm just a bit bummed on how much of a toll it took on my body.

Because I cannot put in as much work in cycling as I used to, I'm going to try to do more leg strengthening workouts and arm workouts (would love to get rid of those ugly bat wings!). I definitely will keep up with riding and ride in the trainer (easy as I can ride indoors and just sit upright) until I can't really ride anymore and give up cycling until after the baby's born.

Second rant...I feel so FAT and bloated! :-( I'm only in my 9th week, and showing slightly, but man, I got a pouch showing and my jeans are already feeling slightly tight/uncomfortable.

Third rant - emotional roller coaster has started. *cries* *bouncing off the walls* *impatient*