Maternity Allowance Help - so stressed :(!

nicolefx

Reaction score
Not sure if anyone here can maybe put my mind at ease a little as after speaking to 4 different people from different departments today no one has been able to give me a definate answer :nope:. Basically my situation is this. Last year I was a student and got enough money from college and grooming the occasional dog without really needing a job. However, I was employed at Christmas from the 12/12/10 to the 31/12/10 by Next. It was a temporary job for the festive season. I was then employed by Home Fundraising from the 22/02/11 to 01/04/11. After I left college I started looking for a full time job and started with Sky on the 8/08/11. I am still employed by Sky but I am currently on maternity leave - a bit earlier than expected as I was working 11 hour shifts and travelling 1 and a half hours to work, thought I would be able to cope till 38 weeks but I gave up LOL! My question is this - my test period where I would have had to have been employed for 26 weeks is from September till the 19th of December - so because I have went on maternity leave will I still be classed as employed? If I am still classed as employed then it will be fine as overall I will have worked about 28/29 weeks ... but if not and they view it as my employment stopping on the day I went on maternity I won't have worked enough weeks and won't be entitled to it :nope:. Which is terrifying me because I have no idea how we are supposed to get by on just OH's wage which is only 800/900 a month. I called today, spoke to 4 different people and they all just 'yeah I duno I think you should be okay' - not one of them could just tell me yes or no and it's really worrying me - I don't want to have to go through the next couple of weeks or however long it will take them to get back to me worrying about the fact I don't know if I will have money or not. I know you have to earn at least 30 pounds a week over the 26 week period and I have earne