Medicine directions?

xolily

Reaction score
Stepson has come to stay for the last few days of the hols. He's on medication and on the box it says "Take TWO daily on alternate days."

Does this mean take 2 one day, miss a day, take 2, miss a day, take 2? His mum has been giving him THREE daily and when he asked her last night on the phone why she's been giving him 3 when it says 2 on the box, she said because his symptoms were getting worse :dohh: she's not a bloody doctor!

im not a doctor but from what you wrote i would take 2 miss a day then 2 then miss and so on
his mum shouldn't be deciding how many he needs and when

:dohh:

It means exactly what you think it means. Take 2, miss a day, take 2, miss a day. Can't believe his Mum was giving him 3 a day! I mean, those directions are there for a reason, especially so with it being prescription medication :dohh:

yeah, 2 on day1, skip day2, 2 on day3 etc.

what medication is it?

yeah take 2 then miss a day... then take 2

seems weird instructions tbh tho, wonder why its not just 1 a day? his mum is silly for giving him 3 without his doctors consent IMO x

Yeah I know i'm so mad :growlmad: if she spoke english i'd have been on the phone by now! I've told OH he needs to sort it ASAP :|

He's on prednisolone. It's no wonder he's not getting any better when she's chopping and changing doses. He's peeing literally like 10 times an hour and i've looked his illness up on the internet and it doesn't have excessive peeing as a symptom or as a side effect of his medication =/ !

yeah take 2 then miss a day... then take 2

seems weird instructions tbh tho, wonder why its not just 1 a day? his mum is silly for giving him 3 without his doctors consent IMO x

don't know why it's that! tis what it says on the box though. says that then "Total Dose 10mg on alternate days" x

:dohh: Great idea to mess around with steroids.