Midwife or no?

Hope87

Reaction score
Hi Ladies...Hope your pregnancies are going well! This is my first child, so I'm completely new to pregnancy, prenatal care and everything that comes with it. It is exciting, terrifying and wonderful.

I understand that in every state/country offers different prenatal care and options to expecting mothers. I'm blessed to be Canadian. All my health and prenatal care is (for the most part) covered. At this time, I have the option of continuing my care with a doctor/OBGYN/Obstetrician or a midwife. I have never used a midwife, nor have some of my closest friends. Except, one did have a Dula. I have an upcoming meeting at the midwifery unit of our local children's hospital, and not too sure if this is the right option. Especially since I have to commit to a natural birth.

If you had a midwife, what was your experience like? Any advice? Suggestions?

I have had 2 home births attended by midwives and am planning the same this time. I feel comfortable knowing that i'm in familiar surroundings without unnecessary medicalisation or intervention. Everyone is different of course but I'd not choose any other way :flower:

I'm a 1st time mom too... and I loooooooove my midwife! I started seeing her for my GYN checkups before we ever started TTC. Throughout the pregnancy she has been great, so much more in tune to my needs & the baby's needs & my concerns than a traditional OB (especially as a first time mom). With the other mommies I know, almost half choose midwives rather than MD's.