Milk to food ratio. Worried.

Oxygen7880

Me and my baby girl :)
Reaction score
Hi ladies, my lg is 7 months old and I have been weaning her since she turned 6 months. She wasn't much interested at first but has slowy improved and now has 3 meals per day (which i upped from 2 after a health visitor told me she should be doing 3 plus snacks at 7 months).
My concern is the amount of milk (formula) she is taking. The amount has dropped from 28-32 oz (4 bottles) per day when I started weaning her down to 16-21 oz (3 bottles). My health visitor came this week and told me that by now she should only be having 2 bottles of milk per day and that food should be the most important part. I was shocked since I was still giving her 4 bottles (even though she was barely touching them sometimes).
From everything I have read it says that milk (formula in my case) is the most important and I have read various amounts that a baby of her age should still be taking. Most of the time I read at least 21 oz.
Anyway I just felt that I must be doing it all wrong and so the next day I dropped her bottles to just 2 as the health visitor said. My lg only took 14 oz that day. It really concerned me. Since then I have increased this to 3 bottles and even with this she sometimes (like today) only takes about 16 oz.
I know she get some milk from her food but does that make up for the lack of formula.?
She is just under the 9th percentile and just made 14lb. So shes a little dot and im wondering if I should reduce her food a bit so that she takes more milk. Or am I completely wrong and my hv right? I just dont know what to do.