"Milk Waster"

StarGazerRose

Reaction score
FTM ... i'm still learning the most efficient way for us. Baby Girl is 2 months old.
I nurse her when I'm home, and Hubby gives her bottles of pumped milk while I'm at work.

When I feed her, she seems to be getting plenty, but she soaks a burp rag with milk that pours out the sides of her mouth. It concerns me that so much is being lost... I end up with milk covered hands, her and her outfit are soaked, and I always have to keep an extra rag to wipe her face too.

I believe her latch is good, I check her position and she seems to be on well. Sometimes i feel a painful pinch when she latches... I try to adjust her but she's going to town and the pain eventually goes away (i'm guessing that is probably my "let down")

Is any one else's baby a milk waster? What did you do or find that helped?

This was my daughter, the midwife said I just had a lot of milk and a really good flow of it. It stopped happening around 3 months as she got bigger. :)

Thanks Clair.
I hope we find an efficient way to continue. I watched a few more videos... might see if i can take something with me.

Have you had her checked for tongue tie? DD used to leak out of her mouth before hers was cut, it also stopped the pain I was experiencing

Does she do the same with bottles? If not, then it's probably that you have a fast flow of milk and she may be letting it out of the sides in order to be able to deal with it better and not get overwhelmed. You could try a laid back/reclined feeding position (you lying back at 45 degrees or so, so that when LO is attached the milk has to flow against gravity to get in to her mouth). It can sometimes be tricky to get comfy at first so if you have breastfeeding help/support you could ask them to help you get started with it. Great thing about it is that it also helps babies who struggle to get a deep latch - so its a bit of a 2-for-1!!