Mixed feelings after photographing birth of nephew

Discussion in 'Miscarriage Support' started by SilverFair, Jan 25, 2011.

1. SilverFair

SilverFair Well-Known Member

I miscarried my first pregnancy 8 weeks ago today. I haven't had a period yet and my pregnancy tests are all negative. Yesterday, I spent a full 24 hours from midnight to midnight getting updates from my brother about my sister-in-law's progress. Finally around 3:00, I went to the hospital and stayed in the room with them. My SIL invited me to be a part of the birth since she knew we were trying to have a family and thought seeing a live birth would be good for me. I agreed, as it would take some of the mystery (and thus the fear) out of it. Plus, I was living out of state when my niece was born, so I didn't get to be around for that and was really excited to be here for this one. As a professional photographer, I also took it as a chance to try my hand at birth photography, something I'm interested in pursuing. Her labor was long and slow, but she did great. ALL NATURAL. It made me think I could totally do it. The last 30 minutes was intense and I never want to do that part, but I know it would be fine and worth it.