Mould

Takara

Reaction score
Long story short, my flat is riddled with mould. It is (slowly) being delt with but I am being exposed to the spores as much as I clean and treat them myself the entire place smells of damp.

How much if any damage is being done? I have nowhere else to stay so I just want to try and minimise the damage.

Xx

Depends on the type of mold age of mold lots of stuff, personally I wont live in a home with mold because we used to live in a trailer, that was mold infested and I was ridiculously sick all the time.

I am not an expert so this is all just from personal experience, my OH is a microbiologist and our old flat was covered in mould as well, he would not allow me to do any packing or moving as the spores can cause chest infections and things and as i was pregnant he didn’t want me getting anything like that. As far as I’m aware though it doesn’t directly effect the unborn baby. From what he was saying though disturbing the spores is the worst thing to do.
is there no one who could do the cleaning and treatments for you? And have you mentioned it to your midwife to see what advise they give?

Do u own ur property or is it rented ? If u own it you need to bleach it all down and ideally dry the room or rooms out even get a damp expert round cos maybe ur outer walls need treating , but if u are rented ur landlord or council should sort it out as it can in time effect ur health !!!! Hope u get it sorted x

Maybe you could try keeping the room well ventilated when you're cleaning it - open all the doors and windows. Also use a damp cloth rather than a dry one when you are wiping it.

Do you have mould killer spray? That will completely kill it and stop it growing back as quickly.... Not a solution but it will help.

We have a bit of mould in our flat - the walls, floors and ceilings are concrete so they are cold in winter and not breathable. I usually leave the windows slightly open and am hoping it will help...only time will tell.