My advice if you're going thru a bad time

TrixieLox

Reaction score
Hey guys, I've been TTCing since Nov 2007 and an old skool BnB member (with the odd break or 2) and have had tests, all fine (which is frustrating in its way as difficult to know what the heck's wrong!). I really want to start a family. Really desperately.

I've been through real dark times but I've pulled myself back up from the depths of madness and I just wanted to offer some advice for those of you really struggling right now with feelings of bitterness, insanity, anger, etc etc.

Focus your mind elsewhere before it destroys you.

Hey, sounds cheesy but it's true. I started writing the novel I always wanted to write and it re-focused my mind and took me away from the whole TTC madness. I started looking at writing forums rather than BnB a zillion times a day, I started surfing literary agent blogs instead of googling symptoms. And I started writing every day instead of checking if I was OVing.

There's no happy ending - I'm not preggo yet but I am sooooooooooooooooo much happier (a top literary agent has also taken me on, hurrah!). I no longer glare at other preggo ladies, my heart doesn't sink when I find out someone's pregnant, I don't drag my hubby to the bedroom only when I'm OVing (cos hey, it hasn't helped doing that the past 18 months). In other words, TTCing had a strangehold on me for a while but now I've broken free of a silly old cow. I've learnt to be patient.

I know I'm lucky, I have a passion - writing - that was strong enough to face down my other obsession - TTCing. But if you in a bad place right now, have a think about it... x

PS. If you want to throw tomatoes and tell me I 'don't understand', go for it. :)

Glad you have found something to refocus you hun and congrats by being taken on the lit agent!