My doctor suggested Mirena IUD

Jazzycat123

Reaction score
I had my baby 6 weeks ago. I am 36 and even though my son is my first I do not plan to get pregnant again but am not ready to have tubes tied and I am not good at pills and do not want to have a shot ever so often. My doctor recommended Mirena IUD, he said it lasted for 5 years and said I was a good candidate but friends have told me they are dangerous. My doctor said complications are set at 1%. Has anyone ever used this and was it a good choice for them?

Not sure personally- but I'm considering getting an IUD- as I don't mind the pill, but have forgot on more than one occassion to take it- oops. And since we do not want more kids, it would be nice not to have to *think* about birth control! Like you, I don't want to go through tubes tied... etc...

I do have several friends/co-workers that have the IUD- only one had any complications (an infection and had to have it take out- but otherwise fine).

I know there are two typs- copper and hormonal one that the hormones stay in that area and don't make it to your blood. That kind can also make your periods less (after about 6mos). I have some friends who don't even have a period anymore...

IDK- tough call... I'm hesitant more so because of the thought of having something in there. LOL. BUT- everyone I talked to says you actually forget- as you cannot feel it.

btw- here is some good info on both...

https://www.webmd.com/sex/birth-control/intrauterine-device-iud-for-birth-control

If you don't want hormones (like Mirena)- then get the copper one- it lasts 10yrs (or until removed).

I just had the Mirena IUD inserted a week ago. No complications so far, not even spotting, can't feel it at all...so far so good! IUDs have a bad reputation from issues with them decades ago. Complications now are pretty rare. Absolutely don't do it if you aren't comfortable with it though!