New to IVF and in need of guidance

meggabear

Mommy, daddy and Caiden
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm hoping everyone is doing well. I've met with an IVF doctor and aside from the expenses being intimidating I've found some other things that scare me. When they go to retrieve the eggs does the needle they insert to get them hurt badly after? I've never seen such a thing and to be honest my heart leapt into my throat. Are any of you lovely ladies willing to share your experiences to calm my nerves?

Hi!

I am also new to this process, I start my first IVF cycle in around 2 weeks time when my period arrives.

I've obviously not been through it yet but I've watched lots of journeys on youtube and it does seem that the egg retrieval part is uncomfortable but you should be drowsy from the sedation so with any luck it won't be too painful for us! I'm not expecting it to be pain free though. I don't think any part of the journey is!

xx

Hi
I was always sedated for ec and didn't feel a thing. Few cramps and a little bleeding after but really nothing to worry about. If find out from your clinic how they do ec and if you can be sedated. I've always been awake for et and that's absolutely fine too.

Depending on what drugs you have, some of the injections can be a bit stingy but again nothing to worry about. And I promise it'll all be forgotten when you get your bfp!!

Any more questions, please don't hesitate to ask.
Good luck. Xx

Hi, we went through IVF in December. I was sedated for egg retrieval so did not feel anything, and I was pretty drugged up afterwards. I did have the day of the egg retrieval off work, and then I took the following day off to rest as well. I didn't think I would need it, however after two days I realised how glad I was to have taken the day off afterwards. You think you're fine, but the rest really helps bring you back to feeling 100%.