Night shifts?

Jobi

Reaction score
Anyone here do night shifts? I am a nurse and have to do my fair share of nights but really I am within my rights to come off them. But the rota had been done before anyone knew i was pregnant so I am stuck with another 4 nights to do (just one a week).
The last one I went off sick but got one tonight and just don't know how I am going to cope! I am sooo tired all the time :sleep:and obviously nauseous, I am dreading it.
Anyone else do nights, any coping strategies??

Hey, I was down for 3 nights a few weeks back but i phoned the doctor when i was really unwell to get some tablets prescribed. She advised me not to the night shifts as sleep is really important at this early stage. I would explain to your work. My work have been excellent. I was meant to be working a double shift today but im just to tired and nauseous all the time. The smells in a care home just set me off. I hate letting people down, but then its not fair on the residents when their nurse if running off every 10mins to chuck up....lovely. I personally wouldnt being doing the night shift xx

I work for the NHS. Speak to your line manager or HR. You will probably find they will really help you. I work in mental health and am only four weeks gone. Next week I will probably have my role changed a little so I have no patient contact. Honestly, I think you need to speak to someone to explain your worries and above all, your health comes first. xx