Planning to temp while ttc or not?

Earthylove

Reaction score
I've been debating with myself on whether or not to keep temping when we start ttc in August or if I should stop that month and just see what happens. I've been temping for nearly a few years now to avoid getting pregnant so I feel like I have a pretty good idea of when I'm ovulating and when I'm about to start my period. On the one hand I want to keep temping so I'll know exactly when I ovulated that cycle and if my temps are staying high or if they're starting to drop before AF arrives.. But on the other hand, I don't want to be real uptight about it, freaking out about every temperature change and worrying about my temp dropping.

What do you guys think? Do you plan to temp during ttc or will you just bd and see what happens? And why?

Thanks!!

I don't plan on temping, at least not in the beginning. I think temping and charting will have me stressing and symptom spotting like crazy, and all that anxiety is not going to be good for TTC. We will just bd as often as possible (because that sounds like fun) and see what happens. If we don't fall after a few months perhaps we will look into it further then.

I think you've gotta do whatever feels right for you.

No temping here either! Partly because I know I'll keep forgetting which will make it pointless and I'll get stressed at myself and partly because I think I get over pain and its exactly every 27/28 days so I'll stick with that for a while :thumbup:

I think I'm going to keep temping. I've only just come off hormonal contraception, I don't think 3 and a half months will be enough for my cycle to be super predictable. OH does not have a terribly high sex drive so I think we will have better chances if I just gently encourage bd 2 or 3 times around O. bd-ing constantly is just not gonna happen for us. Once O is confirmed I can leave him be :)